bible-pages-3

I was reading in the Psalms the other morning, and these verses stuck out: “Therefore, you kings, be wise; be warned, you rulers of the earth. Serve the Lord with fear and rejoice with trembling. Kiss the Son, lest he be angry and you be destroyed in your way, for his wrath can flare up in a moment. Blessed are all who take refuge in him.”

The “therefore” comes after this statement, which seems to be the Father addressing the Son: “Ask of me, and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession.You will rule them with an iron scepter; you will dash them to pieces like pottery.”


I believe it was the Holy Spirit bringing this portion of the Bible to my attention, because I’ve read this psalm a lot of times. I realized for the first time that this verse was directed to, well, the rulers of the earth! (It’s amazing how dense one can feel at times like this!) I guess it was the first time I realized that it was addressed to them—and that they should heed it. If they wanted to be wise they would serve the Lord with fear and pay homage to Him (kiss the Son). This was followed by a warning, that unless they did that, it wouldn’t go well for them.

The reason for this is in the verse that precedes it: The nations will all belong to Jesus. He will inherit them. For my part, this is a wonderful thing. I can’t imagine a ruler that I would rather have in charge, in power. He is good, gracious, just, loving and forgiving. He is also amazingly powerful. I am going to enjoy a government like that.

In the meantime, however, it’s going to be rough, because, generally, the rulers of the earth don’t fear Him or pay homage to Him. We should pray that they will, for our sake as well as theirs.

