p1040006

There are some things in Scripture that, perhaps, I’ll just never fully understand. The portions quoted below are a couple of those. I’m not sure if the reason this is so difficult for me to comprehend is due to my innate sinfulness as a person or because it seems to fly in the face of my American understanding of fairness and rights as an individual. Or is it because I’ve bought into an incorrect understanding of who God is and am clueless concerning His sovereignty? This is what the Lord said through the prophet, Isaiah: “I form light and create darkness, I make well-being and create calamity. I am the Lord, who does all these things.”

And then, two verses later, just to make sure we get it, He says: “Woe to him who strives with him who formed him, a pot among earthen pots! Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’?”

This isn’t just an Old Testament idea. Paul says essentially the same thing in his letter to the believers in Rome: “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’ Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?”

The Lord of all the earth does as He pleases. He creates calamity, if He pleases. He does with us as He pleases.

Lord, help us walk with You.

