p1040003

This one of the things Jesus says about wealth:

“Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions, and give to the needy. Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also” (Luke 12:32-34 ESV).

If I were to sell all we possess and give it to the poor, I would have treasure in heaven. I have to ask myself, “Why isn’t this important to me? Why isn’t it important that I have treasure in heaven—a treasure that will be eternal? Why is it more important to me to have treasure here on earth, wealth that is so very temporary, according to Jesus?” I struggle mightily with this question.

I’m not happy with my answer. I tend to value my treasures here on earth more than I value having treasure in heaven. It’s as simple as that. I am amazingly earthly minded.

When I pray, I tell the Lord that all I possess belongs to Him. Then I ask Him to help me give it to Him.

