romans
Christians are often taught that we are God’s children and “fellow heirs with Christ.” It sounds good, and it is good. It lines up with the biblical truth that He has given us everything we need to live our lives with Jesus and that He will continue to do so, often beyond our ability to comprehend it.

However, there is this interesting thing that Paul says in Romans 8 that I think we too often ignore. Look carefully, if you would, at the last part of verse 17:


“The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.”

It looks like our inheritance is directly related to our suffering with Him.

Why would any Christian want to do that, to suffer? Well, to be a fellow heir with Jesus, for one thing.Paul tells in the next verse: “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.”

No one wants to suffer, at least no one I know. When we’re in the middle of it, we want it to go away. To be honest, I’m not sure I think about a future glory with Jesus when I’m encountering hardship. I just think about me and my family. That the possibility of that future glory means so little to me indicates how earthly minded I am.

Do I feel guilty about that? No. I feel challenged. I understand that the Lord is graciously at work in His children. He doesn’t condemn us when we don’t get it.Would I like to have a more godly, biblical attitude about this? Yes. I’m praying for a more godly perspective concerning my life on this earth.

