2005-03-18_2302-12_thomsoncam0376

Jesus made it clear that He came to serve: “You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them. It shall not be so among you. But whoever would be great among you must be your servant, and whoever would be first among you must be your slave, even as the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many” (Matthew 20:25–28).

Please note that Jesus included the giving of His life as part of His definition for serving: “…the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” This is a reminder to us that discipleship with Jesus, service to Jesus and His Church, entails the giving of our lives. If we are to follow the example of Jesus, we will understand that servants not only serve, they sacrifice.

As if the Creator and Upholder of all things giving His life for the sins of all of humanity wasn’t evidence enough that He came to serve us, Jesus relates this startling eschatological truth:

He will serve us in eternity. “Stay dressed for action and keep your lamps burning, and be like men who are waiting for their master to come home from the wedding feast, so that they may open the door to him at once when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes. Truly, I say to you, he will dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them” (Luke 12:35–37).

This just stuns me. The Master will serve His servants. My first reaction upon grasping the reality of this scripture passage was much like Peter’s at the Last Supper when Jesus wanted to wash his feet. Not me! You’ll never serve dinner to me! However, I will have no part of Him if I deny His willingness to serve me. If I disallow Him, I will not understand one of the essential aspects of His nature: He is a servant.

