img_0310

The Bible is full of amazing statements. Perhaps it’s more accurate to say that the Bible is amazing from cover to cover. However, at different times in our lives, some portions are “made real” to us. They stand out. The Holy Spirit opens our eyes and causes the truth of those verses to crash into our understanding about the nature of God.

Here is one such passage, and it just absolutely, completely astounds me. At different times when I have shared it with others, I can barely keep myself from crying. It’s from Luke 12, and Jesus has been talking for some time about money, possessions and the things of this world. He tells us to give to the poor and store up treasure in heaven, not on the earth—this is in verse 33. In verse 34 He says, “For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

Following this teaching about how we should view money and possessions is His admonition to be ready for His return. (Changing how we regard wealth as preparation for Jesus’ return is an important topic, but we’ll let it set there for now.) Let’s read, staring with verse 35:

“Stay dressed for action and keep your lamps burning, and be like men who are waiting for their master to come home from the wedding feast, so that they may open the door to him at once when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes. Truly, I say to you, he will dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them. If he comes in the second watch, or in the third, and finds them awake, blessed are those servants! But know this, that if the master of the house had known at what hour the thief was coming, he would not have left his house to be broken into. You also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect” (Luke 12:35–40 ESV).

I don’t know how many times I’ve read these verses—lots. But I never saw what Jesus said the “master” would do when he returned. It’s verse 37. Let’s read it again: “Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes. Truly, I say to you, he will dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them.”

Did you notice what Jesus said what He, the Master, would do for those servants who were awake when he returned? He will “dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them.”

We have read in the Bible that the return of Jesus will be glorious. Every eye shall see Him. He will come on clouds in glory. But have we ever considered what He said He would do in these verses, that He will have us recline at table and serve us? The Creator of the universe, the Savior of all mankind, will serve us dinner? Maybe even wash our feet?

I don’t know about you, but my initial response to this truth was, “Oh, no. That can’t happen. It’s not right that the crucified and risen Lord will be my servant, my waiter. That’s not right.” However, quickly following that was the realization that that response was just like Peter’s when he told Jesus that he didn’t want Him to wash his feet. Jesus replied, “If I do not wash you, you have no share with me.”

I do not understand my Savior. I do not know Him as I ought. I do not truly know that being a servant is part of His character, part of His heart. Lord, please teach me Your ways. Please give me the heart of a servant, like Your heart.

