2009-02-23_1518_helpfulwallsign

Why do Christians say things that are so puzzling? They learn them from others without questioning, without doing due diligence to discover if what a teacher or leader is saying has any basis in Scripture.

For instance, it seems that many Christians have gone into the “I declare” zone. Here are a couple of random, typical examples from a blog site:

“I am like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, I am yielding fruit in season—NOW! THIS IS MY SEASON; my leaf does not wither and in whatever I do, I prosper.”

“From Proverbs 11:25 I declare: ‘I will be exceedingly generous and I will be exceedingly prosperous. I water and I am watered.’”

Sounds scriptural, doesn’t it? However, is this practiced in the Bible, or are believers instructed to do this in Scripture? In the New Testament, believers do make declarations. However, most of them concern what God has already done, whether it’s a healing, a deliverance, or a salvation. There are too many examples to cite here, so I encourage you to check this out with your own study. However, here is one example: “And when the woman saw that she was not hidden, she came trembling, and falling down before him declared in the presence of all the people why she had touched him, and how she had been immediately healed” (Luke 8:47). The others are declarations concerning preaching the gospel: “…for I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God” (Acts 20:27). All the examples I found glorify God or His truth. None of them were personal declarations that laid claim to God’s promises or were attempts to claim for an individual believer something the Lord had said.

Let’s pause a moment and ask what I hope is a sensible question. Why do I need to speak into existence or “claim” something that God has promised? Isn’t He the One who keeps and is able to keep His promises? Does He need our help to keep His promises?

The Lord performs enormously wondrous works, all by Himself. Those things that He has promised He will perform according to His will and purposes, in His time. Please note how the declarations cited from the blog above center on the speaker, not God. This should give us pause. It almost seems that this practice attempts to turn the speaker into a demi-god, a god who has some but not all of the powers of God.

This declaration nonsense is just another example of a self-centered belief system held by misled Christians that a declaration about what God has already promised makes any difference whatsoever. It is a goofy spouting of pretend power that these hoodwinked Christians think they possess.

I remember, years ago, often encountering the destructive, condemning, legalistic teaching that unless you declared or claimed your healing, you might not be healed. Or that the reason you had not been healed was because you had not declared or claimed healing. What oppressive, faith-in-the-grace-of-God-destroying heresy!

Christian believers. Remain true to the Word of God. Check out what has been told you by powerful, influential preachers. There’s a lot of junk out there.

All scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

