In our last look at the Book of Job, we saw that the Lord God Creator continued to ask Job questions he just could not answer, because Job was not God. He did not know all things the way our Father does, nor could he instruct His creations about how they should behave. Job was finally reduced to silence, but after God humbled him, he did speak:

“Then Job answered the LORD and said: ‘Behold, I am of small account; what shall I answer you? I lay my hand on my mouth. I have spoken once, and I will not answer; twice, but I will proceed no further’” (Job 40:3–5).1

Job surrendered.

You and I would, as well, as would every human being on earth after this onslaught of the truth of God’s creative sovereignty.

However, the Lord was not through with His suffering servant. After Job told Him that he would speak no longer, God unleashed a torrent of questions that would cause anyone to wither. It was only by God’s grace that Job was able to withstand this barrage. However, He asked all these questions in love. Somehow, all of this was for Job’s good.

“Dress for action like a man; I will question you, and you make it known to me. Will you even put me in the wrong? Will you condemn me that you may be in the right?” (Job 40:7–8).

I find it difficult to imagine what would be happening in my mind and soul if God asked me if I thought I had the right to condemn Him, especially after He had asked me all these questions about His creative order to which I was unable to respond.

Nevertheless, the Lord continued:

“Adorn yourself with majesty and dignity; clothe yourself with glory and splendor. Pour out the overflowings of your anger, and look on everyone who is proud and abase him. Look on everyone who is proud and bring him low and tread down the wicked where they stand. Hide them all in the dust together; bind their faces in the world below. Then will I also acknowledge to you that your own right hand can save you” (Job 40:10–14).

Could Job adorn himself with majesty and dignity? Clothe himself with glory and splendor”

No, he could not, and neither could we.

Abase the proud? Tread down the wicked?

Not only did Job not have the power to do this, he did not possess the judicial capacity to do so. By that, I mean that only God has a perfectly holy and righteous as well as an eternal, all-knowledge perspective to make judgments about what is right and what is wrong.

You and I do not. We do not know everything. We are not perfectly holy and righteous in ourselves. Indeed, we are proud and wicked.

Then the Lord unleashes a fusillade of questions about two beasts, the identity of which is uncertain. The ESV offers Behemoth and Leviathan. Some think these verses describe a hippopotamus and a crocodile, but no one except God knows for sure. Regardless, the Lord was telling Job, again, that He created beasts that Job could not control. God designed animals on purpose that were wild, untamable—and stronger than man by himself. The implication is that the Lord also created man to be weak in comparison; not only weak in comparison to these two mighty animals but obviously weaker than the One who fashioned them.

Finally came Job’s second repentance and confession. He admitted that he did not know everything. He confessed that he had no right to judge God, to determine if His actions were good or evil, righteous or unrighteous.

Then the most important conclusion that Job came to and that we can come to:

“I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.” (Job 42:5–6).

We think we know God sufficiently, but we do not. We think we see Him clearly, but we do not. Everything we suffer and experience; all that we question and doubt leads here: the knowledge of our God, our great Creator and Savior.

There is no more important knowledge possible in our brief life span.

None.

God, when all was said and done, blessed Job with more than he lost. Such is the eternal future for all those who persevere with Jesus—for days without end, each glorious day better than the last, in God’s eternal kingdom.

1The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

