Passion Atlanta: Wondrous Blessings And A Warning.

The other day, I watched a video about a gathering of young people at an event called Passion Atlanta. It looked like most of them were around college age with some younger and older ones mixed in. I know nothing about Passion, so this is not an endorsement. I just happened to come across the video on YouTube.

The setting didn’t surprise me. It was in a large arena with a huge circular stage on which stood musicians and singers. Bright lights and cameras were everywhere. I don’t attend rock concerts anymore, but the setting was similar. The worship leader, a man, began singing, slowly and softly, a song written by Michael W. Smith entitled Agnus Dei. It begins with the word, “Hallelujah.”

I was surprised they had chosen this song. It was on an album entitled Go West Young Man which was released in 1990. That was thirty-four years ago. In comparison, that means I would have been singing Christian worship songs from the 1930’s when I was a young Christian. I’m not sure, but I don’t think that era had many songs that would have met my worship needs when I was a newly minted Jesus Freak. But there it was, a modern worship team singing a relatively old Christian worship song.

The worship team and the crowd began to sing with increasing volume and fervor. The song leader bowed his head and soon got on his knees. Most of the people were worshiping with all their hearts. It was obvious that these young folks had become serious about their worship. Many in the crowd began weeping, as was the worship leader.

And soon, so was I as I worshipped along with them.

It was wonderful. Glorious.

I thank the Lord for it.

The only biblical term I know that describes this is the Holy Spirit “falling” on people and is found here:  

“While Peter was still saying these things, the Holy Spirit fell on all who heard the word” (Acts 10:44).1

What word were they hearing? Michael W. Smith had taken the words in the song Agnus Dei directly from Scripture.

“Hallelujah! For the Lord our God the Almighty reigns” (Revelation 19:6).

“Worthy is the Lamb…” (Revelation 5:12a)

“Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord God Almighty…” (Revelation 4:8).

The Holy Spirit was making known the reality of the glory of Jesus.

 Although it was wonderful, it needs to be recognized that there is a danger here. Christians who have been overwhelmed by such experiences may begin to seek them, traveling to activities hoping to be “blessed” again. This is not healthy, and nowhere in Scripture are we instructed to do so. Such amazing outpourings are not a daily occurrence in a Christian’s life, and we should not expect them to be so.

What should be a daily occurrence in a Christian’s life, however, is dying to oneself. Jesus said, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it” (Luke 9:23–24).

Paul wrote, “Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord” (Philippians 3:8a).

It’s not about chasing experiences. It’s about Him. Honoring Him by taking up our crosses, denying ourselves, and counting everything as loss as we follow Jesus.

And all the while, we worship God, whether the Holy Spirit is “falling” upon us or not. This also should be a daily occurrence for us.

“But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him. God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth” (John 4:23–24).

1All Scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (2016). Crossway Bibles.

Gif courtesy giphy.

2 thoughts on “Passion Atlanta: Wondrous Blessings And A Warning.

Add yours

    1. Thanks, Bruce. Trust you are doing well, and that your carrots are, too. ________________________________

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑